Just a Youth Ministry Geek!

Conversations about modern youth ministry

Review: Jesus Wants to Save Christians November 7, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Dj @ 3:26 pm

If you haven’t heard of Rob Bell, stop what you’re doing and check him out.  He’s the founding pastor of Mars Hill Bible Church.  He’s a fantastic author and speaker.

His most recent release, along with author Don Golden, is Jesus Wants to Save Christians: A Manifesto for the Church in Exile.

The church in exile?  Read the book and it will make complete sense!

Things about this book that I liked:

  • A fresh and living recount of Old Testament–especially the Exodus.  We’ve all read the scripture many times and heard countless sermons on it, but Rob puts a new perspective on it all.  He doesn’t rewrite the story, or even stretch it, but for me I came from the Exodus narrative with a whole new fresh understanding of how it fits with the whole of the Bible–and today.
  • This book articulates everything that I have been feeling about the church but have been unable to communicate.  For example: “A church is not a center for religious goods and services, where people pay a fee and receive a product in return.  A church is not an organization that surveys its demographic to find out what the market is demanding at this particular moment and then adjusts its strategy to meet that consumer niche.”  Ouch.  I found myself saying that word several times.
  • Quick read but not at the expense of it’s depth.  181 pages.  But if you know Rob Bell’s style of writing, many of his paragraphs are simply lines of text, which make most pages equal to maybe a fourth of a normal page.  But they still managed to keep the depth of the subject deep.

Things about this book that I didn’t like:

  • This is probably my American mindset speaking here, but I was left wanting to know “Okay, so what are some steps we can take?”  They mention of course some of the ways we are lacking as a Church but I wanted more.  I know this was probably done intentionally, so we can ask the questions ourselves and come up with our own answers.
  • Sometimes I feel they stretched scripture a little too far to make a point.  There were a couple of times that a point was made about a particular scripture that I thought was probably not the right way to apply it.
  • Repetition is good, but over repetition bothers me.  This particularly bothered me at the end of the book where thoughts were repeated multiple times–sometimes within lines of each other.

Overall, I loved this book.  It made me take a serious look at myself and how I am often guilty of living and participating in the Empire.  How I have forgotten my own Exodus.  This is a must read for anyone in the church.  Go buy it.  Right now.  Seriously.

 

One Response to “Review: Jesus Wants to Save Christians”

  1. John Says:

    Please check out jesuswantstosavechristians.blogspot.com. It’s an alternate reality game (ARG) based on the message of Bell and Golden. Quite intriguing.


Leave a Reply

