Just a Youth Ministry Geek!

Conversations about modern youth ministry

God and Politics October 7, 2008

Filed under: politics — Dj @ 12:31 pm

It seems like every single day I get a new email about how Barack Obama is the new anti-Christ and how Christians needs to raise up and defeat him (thats almost word for word the one I just).

It’s almost making me sick to my stomach the junk that is being circulated.  I know and I understand that people have strong opinions about politics, but there comes a point where people stop being passionate and start becoming just plain close minded.

Take for instance the email I just received.  It stated that God doesn’t want Obama to be president, but that God wants John McCain to be our next president.  Oh really?  Won’t the election be the deciding factor on that?

“…for there is no authority except that which God has established.  The authorities that exist have been established by God.” Romans 13:1b

I think what upsets me the most is that there are still people out there that believe that if you’re a Christian, you are obligated under God to vote republican.  That’s simply not true at all.  I could go on and on about many inconsistencies about the republican party and living a life after Jesus.  The same could be said of the democrat party.

Who would Jesus vote for?  I really don’t know.  But I would put money that Jesus wouldn’t marry himself to just one political party.

 

3 Responses to “God and Politics”

  1. Brian Kirk Says:

    Great post. I’m all for having our faith influence our politics, but I get uneasy when people use their faith to claim categorically that they know who God would vote for. I’ve enjoyed reading your youth ministry related posts, too!

  2. Andrew Says:

    Indeed. I grew up in a community where voting Republican meant you were cold-hearted, unchristian, and probably racist. Then I went to a christian college where people were dumbfounded when I mentioned that I wasn’t sure who I was voting for – they had never considered Democrats to be a real option.

  3. Dj Says:

    Thanks guys for your comments. I grew up in a democrat household and went to a church that taught you need to be a republican. Well…they didn’t REALLY teach that, but that was the overall message. When I went to a conservative Bible college, there were some that actually call you a nonChristian if you voted democrat or if you were anti-war. I personally claim neither side, I vote for the best person that I think will do the job. But that’s just me and I do my best not to cast judgment on anyone that may have a differing political view.


Leave a Reply

