Just a Youth Ministry Geek!

Conversations about modern youth ministry

Gimme me somethin’ for the pain September 5, 2008

Bon Jovi sang the song “Something for the Pain” a couple of years ago and it was a great song.  I still listen to it from time to time.  He sings…

Give me something for the pain
Give me something for the blues
Give me something for the pain when
I feel I’ve been danglin’ from a hang-man’s noose
Give me something I can use
To get me through the night

Now, he was singing about a woman, but when we have some sort of a pain we immediately seek some kind of treatment.  Got a headache?  Tylenol.  Sore muscles?  Cream.  Nasty cut?  Neosporin.  But don’t you think that pain serves some kind of purpose?  Here’s an example:

Last week we were in Grundy Virginia for a weekend mission trip.  While playing volleyball my knee suddenly started to pain me in one of the worst ways I could imagine.  I couldn’t move.  My wife, the great nurse that she is, asked me if I wanted some pain killers to help it feel better.  I actually turned them down despite the amount of pain I was in.  Why?  Because I know you’re not supposed to mess around with knee injuries if you’d like to continue walking the rest of your life.  I knew that my knee was hurting because of some sort of damage (it still hurts today btw) and the pain in my knee was a sign that something was wrong.  When I started to bend it a little too far, that sting reminded me of that damage and I would revert to keeping it safe.  In other words, that pain was preventing me from damaging my knee even further.

Truth is, we’ve all been hurt and damaged in some way.  Someone has said unkind words or acted ill towards us and we were hurt.  Perhaps a particular situation in our past still hurts today.  We try to put all kinds of different covers on top to ease the pain.  Some as good as a hobby.  Some as bad as an addiction.

The point in all of this is that we often go through difficult times because it helps us in our futures.  We have that pain because we’re supposed to use it.  I don’t think God wants us to forget about our pain…otherwise we’ve just become a victim and no good will come of it.  But when we continue to feel that pain and remember it, we make ourselves vessels for the Living God to come and use us in someone else’s life.  Paul says it so perfectly:

Give thanks in all circumstances, for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. – 1Thess. 5:18

When you feel that pain, how does it motivate you?

What do you feel like God is moving you to do in the midst of your pain?

If you need more scripture, I highly recommend the first chapter of James.  Amazing stuff!

 

Leave a Reply

